Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Lunchbots Quad #7
My friend has been bringing crackers and hummus to gatherings at my home for a long while now, because it's the only thing she really trusts as vegan, but guess what I discovered after I ate them? These crackers she left with me aren't vegan. They have milk in them. That's unusual for not-cheesy crackers--crackers tend to be vegan--but there you are. This isn't vegan. It tried to be and wasn't. But I don't sweat this sort of thing and I don't think you should, either; just do your best. Because you can get vegan crackers embarrassingly easily, though, and I prepared this with vegan intent, I've tagged this lunch as vegan.
I hadn't made the pepper relish in a really, really long time, and suddenly it occurred to me that it was probably vegan, so I dug out the recipe, and yup, it's just veggies, a bit of oil to cook them in, water, and seasonings. It still goes great on a cracker with or without the cream cheese.